The Department of Economics was established in the year 1978, with Honors, as well as Postgraduate classes. The Deparmtent maintains a rich Seminar Library, which comprises of Books, Journals periodicals on Economics and various other books of general importance. Keeping in view the need of the hour, new courses are being added to the syllabus; along with computer courses with software packages required in Econometric estimation and hypothesis testing. For that purpose a sophisticated Computer Laboratory for students and faculty members wil soon be established. The Honors and Postgraduate courses in Economics are designed to provide an advanced & up to date knowledge of Economics Theory, Quantative Economics, Statistics, Finance, Research Methodology & Applied Economics, including the knowledge about economy of Pakistan, in general & the Province of Sindh in particular.

This year BS(Four Years) Program has been introduced hence new courses have been designed with the objective of providing necessary theoritical applied and research skills in economics, so that the end product gains power of holding the treasurs, economists and social economics experts.